Stuart L. Linas to be Given Robert G. Narins Award for Contributions in Education

Stuart L. Linas, MD, FASN

Stuart L. Linas, MD, FASN, will receive the Robert G. Narins Award for his many contributions to medical education.

Dr. Linas is the Rocky Mountain Professor of Renal Research at the University of Colorado School of Medicine, where he has served on the faculty throughout his academic career. He has directed the renal fellowship program since 1984 and headed the section of hypertension within the division of renal diseases since 1994. He is also the chief of nephrology at Denver Health Medical Center.

Dr. Linas currently chairs the medical school’s curriculum steering committee. He has won many teaching awards from medical students and house staff at the University of Colorado. Among these awards are the best teacher in third and fourth year clinical curriculum, an excellence in teaching award for the second year class, and the outstanding faculty award for house staff teaching. He also won the outstanding faculty teaching award from Denver Health.

Dr. Linas is treasurer of the American Board of Internal Medicine and is a past chair of its subspecialty board on nephrology. He has served ASN on the board of advisors, as the chair of the renal fellowship program directors committee and the hypertension advisory group, and on the education committee. He has served as president of the Association of Specialty Professors and on the board of directors of the Alliance of Academic Internal Medicine.

He was associate editor of Nutrition and High Blood Pressure Reviews. He has also served on the editorial boards of the Internal Yearbook of Nephrology; American Journal of Physiology: Renal, Fluid, & Electrolyte Physiology; American Journal of Kidney Diseases; American Journal of Nephrology; and Clinical Journal of the American Society of Nephrology.

After earning a medical degree from Tufts University School of Medicine, he completed his internal medicine residency at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and nephrology training at the University of Colorado.

Robert G. Narins

Robert G. Narins, MD, was the first recipient of the award now bearing his name. He taught and mentored countless students, serving on the faculties of the University of Pennsylvania, UCLA, Harvard University, Temple University, and Henry Ford Hospital. Well recognized for his contributions in the fields of fluid-electrolyte and acid-base physiology, Dr. Narins has also led numerous education efforts at the national and international levels. Among these, he has chaired the American Board of Internal Medicine’s Nephrology Board and worked on the American College of Physicians’ Annual Program Committee. From 1994 to 2006, he developed and guided ASN’s educational programs, including working to expand educational programs during Renal Week (Kidney Week). In addition, he was instrumental in the development of the Nephrology Self-Assessment Program (NephSAP and the Clinical Journal of the American Society of Nephrology; and in establishing the Fellow of the American Society of Nephrology program. Dr. Narins is also credited with working with organizations in Europe and Asia to help promote education and teaching in nephrology.