Trailblazer Explores History and Outlook of Kidney Disease

Robert W. Schrier


The past and future of kidney disease will be the subject of a state-of-the-art lecture on Sunday, Nov. 4. Robert W. Schrier, MD, professor emeritus at the University of Colorado, Denver, will speak on “Where Kidney Disease Was and Where It Is Headed.”

Dr. Schrier chaired the department of medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine for 26 years and headed the division of renal diseases and hypertension for 20 years. In 1989, he was elected a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. He has been president of the American Society of Nephrology, National Kidney Foundation, International Society of Nephrology, and Association of American Physicians.

He has authored more than 1000 scientific papers and edited numerous books, including editions in internal medicine, geriatrics, drug usage, and kidney disease. His research contributions center on autosomal dominant polycystic kidney disease; pathogenesis of acute renal cell injury; hypertension and diabetic nephropathy; and renal and hormonal control of body fluid volume in cirrhosis, cardiac failure, nephrotic syndrome, and pregnancy. The National Institutes of Health has funded his research for more than 40 years.

During Dr. Schrier’s tenure as chair of the department of medicine at the University of Colorado, the full-time faculty increased from about 75 to 500. The annual research grants the faculty received rose from $3 million to $100 million. As its staff and training programs became nationally prominent, the institution established 30 endowed research chairs. In recognition of these achievements, the governor of Colorado and mayor of Denver issued proclamations designating May 4, 2002, as Robert W. Schrier Day. That year, Dr. Schrier also received the prestigious Belle Bonfils-Stanton Award for Contributions in Science and Medicine.

Dr. Schrier has received honorary degrees from DePauw University, the University of Colorado, the University of Silesia, the University of Toledo, and the National Academy of Medicine of Belarus. He has received the highest awards of the American Society of Nephrology (John P. Peters Award), American College of Physicians (John Phillips Award), National Kidney Foundation (David Hume Award), International Society of Nephrology (Jean Hamburger Award), German Society of Nephrology (Franz Vollhard Award), Western Society of Clinical Investigation (Mayo Soley Award), Association of Professors of Medicine (Robert H. Williams Award), American Kidney Fund (National Torchbearer Award), Association of American Physicians (Francis Blake Award), Acute Renal Failure Commission (Bywaters Award), New York Academy of Medicine (Edward N. Gibbs Memorial Award), University of Strasburg (Louis Pasteur Medal), and American Association of Kidney Patients (Medal of Excellence). His international awards include the Grand Hamdan International Award for Medical Sciences (United Arab Emirates) and the Alexander von Humboldt Research Award (Germany).

October-November 2012 (Vol. 4, Number 10 & 11)