ASN to Bestow Scribner Award on Nathan Levin

Nathan W. Levin


The Belding H. Scribner Award will be tendered to Nathan W. Levin, MD, FACP, FCP(SA), for his career-long contributions to the practice of nephrology.

Dr. Levin is an attending physician at Beth Israel Medical Center, a professor of medicine at Mount Sinai School of Medicine and Albert Einstein College of Medicine, and chair of the Research Board of the Renal Research Institute, all in New York City.

His previous positions include being head of the nephrology and hypertension division at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit and chief of the renal section at the VA Research Hospital in Chicago.

He has been working in nephrology since 1957, when he immigrated to the United States from South Africa.

Established in 1995, the Scribner Award is presented to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the care of patients with renal disorders or have substantially changed the clinical practice of nephrology.

Dr. Levin is the founder and past medical and research director of the Renal Research Institute (RRI), which under his leadership gained global recognition. RRI trains research fellows from countries around the world in kidney disease–related clinical research. Its research spans a full spectrum of interests from molecular biology, clinical research, and pharmaceutical trials to epidemiology.

Among his many activities to support the field, Dr. Levin co-chaired the National Kidney Foundation’s Dialysis Outcomes Quality Initiative, where he made important contributions to the initiative’s clinical practice guidelines. He is a member of the medical advisory board of the American Association of Kidney Patients, a founding member of the Sustainable Kidney Care Foundation, a member of the scientific advisory board of the Dialysis Outcomes and Practice Patterns Study, co-chair of the dialysis advisory committee of the International Society of Nephrology (ISN), an executive committee member of the Kidney Disease: Improving Global Outcomes foundation, a co-founder of the South African Renal Society, and vice president of the Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation.

He has also served as president of the Renal Physicians Association, president of New York Dialysis Services, chair of the Roche Foundation for Anemia Research, and a council member of ISN.

He has contributed to the dialysis and nephrology literature by authoring more than 350 peer-reviewed publications.

His many honors and awards include the Joel D. Kopple Award of the International Federation of Kidney Foundations, the Belding Scribner Trailblazer Award of the International Society for Hemodialysis, the Renal Physicians Association’s Distinguished Nephrology Service Award, the Medal of Excellence of the American Association of Kidney Patients, the Fresenius Lifetime Achievement Award, the Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation’s Recognition Award, the National Kidney Foundation’s Garabed Eknoyan Award, the Amgen Recognition Award, an American College of Physicians fellowship, and an honorary doctorate from the Medical University of Lublin, Poland.

Belding H. Scribner


Belding H. Scribner, MD, developed the arteriovenous shunt, which made possible long-term hemodialysis for chronic renal failure.

Dr. Scribner served as head of the University of Washington’s Division of Nephrology in the Department of Medicine from 1958 to 1982. He and his co-workers at the Seattle university made numerous contributions to helping patients with end stage renal disease, including establishing the world’s first out-of-hospital dialysis unit, developing a home hemodialysis program, improving techniques and equipment for hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis, and studying the adequacy and complications of chronic renal disease treated by dialysis. Dr. Scribner’s work made a significant contribution to transforming nephrology into a major subspecialty of internal medicine.

October-November 2012 (Vol. 4, Number 10 & 11)