Submit nominations for ASN Lifetime Achievement Awards

ASN is now accepting nominations for its Lifetime Achievement Awards.

ASN is now accepting nominations for its Lifetime Achievement Awards

These awards recognize individuals who have made great strides in kidney care, research, and education; and whose contributions have greatly impacted the specialty.

To nominate a candidate, please submit one letter of nomination and the nominee up-to-date curriculum vitae (CV) to ASN Operations Coordinator, Molly Harrison, at

  • ASN can only accept one nomination letter per candidate; however, the letter may have multiple signatories, which must be included with the letter (and not sent separately).
  • ASN will NOT consider nominations submitted in previous years. If you wish to renominate a candidate, please submit a new nomination letter and an updated CV.
  • ASN active, corresponding, and affiliate members are eligible for consideration for the society's awards.
  • ASN is committed to increasing diversity including age, experience, ethnicity, and gender at all levels of the society, including ASN awards.

Take advantage of the opportunity to recognize a colleague for his, her, or their work toward a world without kidney diseases. 

The Robert G. Narins Award honors individuals who have made substantial and meritorious contributions in education and teaching.

The John P. Peters Award recognizes individuals who have made substantial research contributions to the discipline of nephrology and have sustained achievements in one or more domains of academic medicine, including patient care, education, and leadership.

The Belding H. Scribner Award acknowledges individuals who have made outstanding contributions that have a direct impact on the care of patients with renal disorders or have substantially changed the clinical practice of nephrology.

The Donald W. Seldin Young Investigator Award recognizes an individual with an outstanding record of achievement and creativity in based or patient-oriented research related to the functions and diseases of the kidney. This award is co-sponsored by ASN and the Council on the Kidney in Cardiovascular Disease of the American Heart Association.

The Homer W. Smith Award honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions that fundamentally affect the science of nephrology broadly defined but not limited to the pathobiology, cellular, and molecular mechanisms, and genetic influences on the functions and diseases of the kidney.