President’s Medal Winners Drawn from CDC and ASN

Restricted access

Gisela Deuter, RN, MS

Priti R. Patel, MD

Two leaders from very diverse backgrounds will receive president’s medals this year—Gisela Deuter, RN, MS, a former ASN staff member, and Priti R. Patel, MD, of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

ASN awards the ASN President’s Medal to individuals who have helped advance ASN’s mission to lead the fight against kidney disease by educating health professionals, sharing new knowledge, advancing research, and advocating the highest quality care for patients.

Ms. Deuter provided outstanding and innovative leadership as a member of the ASN staff for 20 years. Her expertise and